On Thursday, 21st October, 2021 a special meeting was held at the District Assembly Hall to confirm the President’s nominee for the position of District Chief Executive for the Kwahu Afram Plains South District Assembly, Hon. Evans Kyei Ntiri.

The meeting was graced with the presence of the Eastern Regional Minister, Hon. Seth Acheampong, the some Traditional leaders, Honorable Assembly Members, the District Coordinating Director, HODs and Staff of the Kwahu Afram Plains South District Assembly, the District’s Electoral Officer.

 The Presiding Member, Hon. Theophilus Avor who presided over the meeting in his opening remarks thanked and welcomed the assembly members in the district for gracing the occasion. He then proceeded to formally introduce and welcome various dignitaries present at the occasion to pave way for the official commencement of the meeting.  

The Regional Minister, Hon. Seth Acheampong, also in his address commended members present for their enormous support giving him as the Eastern regional minister and thanked them for the continuous existence of unity among them which has brought about the realization of development in the District. Closing his address, he urged the assembly members to vote and confirm the President’s nominee as the DCE to continue with the good works of his predecessor.  

The District Electoral Officer, Hamza Inusah in his remarks informed members present of the main purpose of the meeting. He took time to explain the law on the election of MMDCE’s, thus Article 243(1) of the 1992 Constitution which states that “there shall be a District Chief Executive for every district who shall be appointed by President with the prior approval of not less than two-third majority of members of the Assembly present and voting at the meeting”.

The total number of eligible voters who were expected to vote were 40 members of the Assembly and were all present at the meeting. The President’s Nominee, Hon. Evans Kyei Ntiri, obtained 38 votes amounting to 90% of the total votes cast and was confirmed for the second time as the District Chief Executive of the Kwahu Afram Plains South District Assembly District Assembly. The newly confirmed DCE together with the Regional minister expressed their appreciation to the honorable members. They also added that the cooperation, love and unity shown by the members during the voting should continue for the socio-economic development of the District