The Natural Resources Conservation Department of the District Assembly is for the sustainable development of the forestry and wildlife resources and protected


  • Assist the Assembly in the formulation of policies for the conservation of natural resources in the district within the framework of national policy on natural resources, conservation and report on the implementation of the policies and programmes to the District Assembly;
  • Facilitate the creation of awareness on the benefits of forests and wildlife conservation;
  • Encourage investment in commercial timber plantation and the preservation of wildlife;
  • Assist and facilitate the establishment and maintenance of tree nurseries and forest plantations for sale to the public;
  • Facilitate the promotion and support of the development of private nurseries, woodlots, fodder poles and timber, and district wildlife reserves including rearing of animals for the production of bush meat and horn by individuals, institutions and organizations;
  • Advise on the prohibition, restriction or regulation of the hunting, capture, killing or sale of animals or any specified species, and cutting, logging or destruction of vegetation growing along any river, stream watercourse, degraded hill slopes and river sources and courses;
  • Facilitate replanting or re-forestation of water courses and degraded land;
  • Assist in developing collaborative mechanisms for;
  • Sustainable management and utilization of timber and non-timber products, andthe protection of forest and water resources from bush fires, illegal harvesting, agricultural encroachment and pollution;
  • Assist the Assembly in the mapping out of areas for natural environment, preservation and protection:
  • Advise the Assembly on measures to embark on to prevent soil erosion; and
  • Assist in prohibiting farming practices which are detrimental
  • to the environment.



The Kwahu Afram Plains South District was carved out from the Kwahu North District and forms part of the newly created districts in the country which were inaugurated on 19th June, 2012. The Legislative Instrument (LI) that established the District is 2045 and was passed in 2012.

The District is bounded to the north by the Kwahu Afram Plains North, to the south by Kwahu South, to the east by the Volta River and to the west by two districts in the Ashanti region precisely Sekyere East and Ashanti-Akim Districts.

The District is located between Latitudes 6o 40I N and 70 10’1 N; longitudes 0O 40I E and 0o 10I E; at the North-Western corner of Eastern Region with a total land area of approximately 3,095 sq km.


OFFICE PHONE: +233 (0) 242434422 / +233 (0) 559986040/+233 (0) 533727750.

SOCIAL WELFARE HOTLINE:+233 (0) 533727751

TOLL FREE: 0800800800 / 0800900900


OFFICE LOCATION: Ekye Amanfrom – Donkorkrom Highway