The department of Health at the District Assembly level consists of the office of the District Health Directorate and the Environmental Health Unit. The District Health Directorate is headed by Mis Joana Amankwa whilst the Environmental Health Unit is by Mr. Frederick Dunoo

The functions of the Department of Health are to:

  • Advise on the Assembly on the construction and rehabilitation of clinics and health centres or facilities;
  • Assist in the operation and maintenance of all health facilities under the jurisdiction of the regional and district coordinating council;
  • Assist to undertake health education and family immunization and nutrition programmes;
  • Coordinate works of health centres or posts or community based health workers;
  • Facilitate collection and analysis of data on health;
  • Promote and encourage good health and sanitation;
  • Facilitate diseases control and prevention;
  • Advise on management of the sick;
  • Assist to formulate, plan and implement district health policies within the framework of national health policies and guidelines provided by the Minister of Health;
  • Provide reports on the implementation of policies and programmes relating to health in the District Assembly;
  • Advise the Assembly on all matters relating to health including diseases in the district;
  • advise on the licensing and regulation of provision of medical care services by the private sector in the district;
  • Facilitate activities relating to mass immunization and screening for diseases treatment in the district.
  • Assist to educate and inform residents of the district on sanitation and personal hygiene;
  • Facilitate and assist in regular inspection of the district for detection of nuisance of any condition likely to be offensive or injurious to human health;
  • Assist in efficient management of clinical care, community health care and environmental health service in the district infrastructure, to clean the District hospital, polyclinics, health posts and dressing stations;
  • Assist to establish, install, build and control public latrines, lavatories, urinals and wash places;
  • Assist the Assemblies in the licensing of persons to build and operate public latrines, lavatories, urinals, washhouses and related services in the District;
  • Monitor the activities of the operators and report to the District Assembly;
  • Assist to establish, maintain and carry out services for the removal and treatment of liquid waste;
  • Advise on the regulation and provision of services for removal and treatment of liquid waste by the private sector, persons authorized or licensed by the District Assembly;

The Kwahu Afram Plains South District was carved out from the Kwahu North District and forms part of the newly created districts in the country which were inaugurated on 19th June, 2012. The Legislative Instrument (LI) that established the District is 2045 and was passed in 2012.

The District is bounded to the north by the Kwahu Afram Plains North, to the south by Kwahu South, to the east by the Volta River and to the west by two districts in the Ashanti region precisely Sekyere East and Ashanti-Akim Districts.

The District is located between Latitudes 6o 40I N and 70 10’1 N; longitudes 0O 40I E and 0o 10I E; at the North-Western corner of Eastern Region with a total land area of approximately 3,095 sq km.


OFFICE PHONE: +233 (0) 242434422 / +233 (0) 559986040/+233 (0) 533727750.

SOCIAL WELFARE HOTLINE:+233 (0) 533727751

TOLL FREE: 0800800800 / 0800900900


OFFICE LOCATION: Ekye Amanfrom – Donkorkrom Highway